top of page
  • Writer's pictureGoddessCeremony

The Divine Feminine and the Chakras

Understanding the chakras is a powerful tool. The chakras relate to our beliefs, fears, needs and desires as humans and when we understand this beautiful system, we are able to transform and heal.

As listed on our blog as one of the top tools we recommend for transformation, the Chakras are thousands of years old and have been studied by yogis, medicine men and women, gurus, teachers and others on the path of enlightement and transformation.

In most traditions, they recognize 7 basic chakras. These chakras transcend the physical and so they cannot be measured, but they do influence our lives to the deepest levels possible.

Our chakras develop throughout our lives and can become imbalanced from certain stressors or experiences or they can be balanced in health. In some, they may even become excessive. As we study the chakras, know that this is simply a tool to determine imbalances they may exist in your body and that it also offers the path to freedom.

The Seven Basic Chakras are as followed:

-Root Chakra

-Sacral Chakra

-Solar Plexus Chakra

-Heart Chakra

-Throat Chakra

-Third Eye Chakra

-Crown Chakra

Each chakra relates to a different part of the body and governs different aspects of our beings. Above, the chakras are shown from left to right: root, sacral, solar plexus, heart, throat, third eye and crown chakras.

We will begin by discussing our first chakra, the root chakra.

The Root Chakra~

Sanskrit word: Muladhara

Location: base of the body, pelvis

Color: red

Basic right: to be here

Demon: fear

Our root chakra develops from the time we are in the womb to about 12 months old. This chakra governs our understanding of safety in the world. From a very young age, even within the womb, we are determining the safety of the world. Is food plentiful? Are there stressors? Are we grounded and in one spot?

Imbalances: the root chakra can very easily come out of balance if we did not have stability or safety growing up. This can also be affected by poverty, lack of consistent housing or even if we did not have a positive father or lacked a father altogether. The root chakra is related to the masculine and so our relationship to our father and men in general is stored here, especially as women. Chronic fear and anxiety can also be a sign of an imbalanced root chakra.

Health: We are grounded, consistent, safe and secure. We have healthy relationships with the divine masculine.

The Sacral Chakra~

Sanskrit word: Svadhisthana

Location: reproductive area

Color: orange

Basic right: to feel

Demon: guilt

The sacral chakra develops around the ages of 6 months to 2 years. This chakra governs our relationship to the feminine, our reproductive area and our femininity. We are also determining the safety of expressing our feelings, experiencing emotions and also connecting to our intuition. If from a young age these things are discouraged, it can be very easy to disconnect from this chakra.

Imbalances: lack of connection to the feminine, resentment of own womanhood, disgust or fear at reproductive area, poor connection to mother. An imbalance here often manifests as an inability to flow with emotions. Women may also lose their intuition if repressed here.

Health: we are connected to the Divine Feminine and we have a healthy sex life. Our intuition is powerful and our reproductive area is healthy.

The Solar Plexus Chakra~

Sanskrit word: Manipura

Location: core

Color: yellow

Basic right: to act

Demon: shame